

# CHRISTOPHE MERIEUX PRIZE 2025 CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

Each year the Institut de France's Christophe and Rodolphe Mérieux Foundation awards a Scientific «Grand Prize» known as the "Christophe Mérieux Prize" to support research into **Infectious diseases in developing countries.** 

This Prize is exclusively destined to researchers from these countries and whose activity is permanently exercised in such countries.

The Christophe Mérieux Prize (500,000 Euros) will be allocated as follows:

- 100,000 Euros as personal reward to the Prize winner having the scientific responsibility of the team
- 400,000 Euros earmarked for the development of the team's research.

It will be awarded in 2025 under the following conditions:

#### **DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT OF DOSSIERS: SEPTEMBER 16, 2024**

#### **CONSTITUTION OF APPLICATION DOSSIERS:**

Constitution of application dossiers:

- CV of the applicant heading up the team, with date of birth and personal address (1 page)
- Composition of the team (1 page)
- Description of previous research achievements in the field (2 pages)
- Title of research project
- Current research project(s) (2 pages)
- List of ten most significant publications
- Reasons justifying the application for the Prize (1/2 page)
- Plus two supporting letters from outside candidate's Institutions (no more).

### Please note:

- A candidacy that was not selected in the previous years can't be resubmitted more than three times.
- Researchers working in a Rodolphe Mérieux Laboratory can apply

Applications must be mailed electronically as one continuous pdf file to the following electronic address:

alice.carron@institutdefrance.fr

And sent by post (one copie of the application):

Fondation Christophe et Rodolphe Mérieux Prix Christophe Mérieux

Institut de France 23, quai de Conti 75270 Paris Cedex 06

For all further information, please contact the Foundations Office: 01 44 41 45 08 - alice.carron@institutdefrance.fr

www.institutdefrance.fr

## CHRISTOPHE MERIEUX PRIZE – PREVIOUS YEARS

- **2007: Pr Ogobara Doumbo**, director of the Malaria Research and Training Center of Bamako (Mali) for his research work on malaria.
- **2008: Pr François-Henri Nosten**, director of the Shoklo Malaria Research Unit (SMRU), in Thailand, for his work on malaria affecting pregnant women and their children.
- **2009: Dr Eric Leroy**, director of the Emerging Viral Diseases Unit of the International Centre of Medical Research in Franceville (CIRMF), Gabon, for his research on emerging infectious viral diseases and arboviruses in Central Africa.
- **2010: Pr Jean-William Pape**, founder and director of GHESKIO (Haitian Group for the Study of Kaposi's Sarcoma and Opportunistic Infections) in Port-au- Prince, Haïti, for his considerable contribution to public health in Haiti and more specifically to AIDS research and prevention.
- **2011: Dr Hector Hugo Garcia**, director of the Center for Global Health, Tumbes- Cayetano Heredia Peruvian University, for his considerable contribution to public health in Peru and particularly for his work in cysticercosis, the most common parasitical infection in developing countries that attacks the central nervous system.
- **2012: Dr Firdausi Qadri**, director of the 'Centre for Vaccine Sciences diseases', ICDDR.B in Dhaka (Bangladesh), for her outstanding research on infectious enteric diseases, a scourge in developing countries.
- **2013: Dr Valerie Mizrahi**, director of the Institute of Infectious Disease and Molecular Medicine (IIDMM) at the University of Cape Town (South Africa), for her outstanding research on tuberculosis, first cause of infectious mortality in the world, in particular in South Africa.
- **2014: Dr Philippe Buchy**, head of the Virology Unit at the Institut Pasteur in Cambodia, for her outstanding research on infectious diseases (dengue, avian flu and tropical fevers) in Southeast Asia, in particular in Cambodia.
- **2015: Dr Jean-Jacques Muyembe Tamfum**, director of the National Institute of Biomedical Research (INRB) of Kinshasa in Democratic Republic of Congo, to support his research on Ebola Hemorrhagic Fever Virus (EHFV) in the Congo basin.
- **2016: Pr Francine Ntoumi**, director of the Congolese Foundation for Medical Research in Brazzaville (Congo), to support his research on infectious diseases in West Africa and in Central Africa.
- **2017: Pr Serge Eholié** and **Dr Xavier Anglaret**, of Center for Research on Infectious Diseases and Associated Pathologies (CERMIPA) in Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire), for their research works on HIV/AIDS, viral hepatitis and infectious diseases of high significance epidemic in West Africa.
- **2018: Pr Patricia Brasil**, director of the Febrile Disease Research Clinic (Fiocruz) in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil), to support his research on the Zika virus and neonatal complications.
- **2019: Dr Maryline Bonnet**, research director for the TransVIHMI unit of the Institut de Recherche pour le Développement (Uganda), to support his research on tuberculosis and on tuberculosis and HIV coinfection.
- **2020: Pr Quarraisha Abdool Karim**, associate scientific director of the Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA) in Durban, for her research works on HIV epidemiology and particularly on HIV prevention for adolescent girls and young women.
- **2021: Pr Marianne Abi Fadel**, dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy, Saint-Joseph University of Beirut (Lebanon), for his active contribution fighting infectious diseases in Lebanon, in particular COVID-19, with an important part devoted to metabolic and cardiovascular cofactors, major causes of morbidity and mortality in Lebanon and the Middle East region.
- **2022: Pr Joseph Kamgno**, dean of the Center for Research on Filariasis and Other Tropical Diseases (CRFilMT) in Yaounde (Cameroun), for his research works on Neglected Tropical Diseases and particularly on filarial infections in Central Africa.
- **2023 : Pr Abdoulaye Djimdé**, dean of the Malaria Research and Training Center (MRTC) in Bamako (Mali), for his research works on malaria, and particularly on the molecular mechanisms of Plasmodium falciparum resistance to chloroquine and to artemisinin.
- **2024 : Pr Emmanuel Nakouné-Yandoko**, scientific director of the Institut Pasteur of Bangui (IPB) in the Central African Republic, for his research on assessing the impact of climate change on the main arboviroses transmitted by *Aedes aegypti* and *Ae. albopictus* in the Central African Republic.